top of page

Getting to Know Your Community: Plattsburgh, NY

This past week I got the opportunity to go out and explore the new place I call home: Plattsburgh, NY. For this adventure I took along my friend and classmate Chris. For each image in the gallery above there is an environmental connection that displays the impact and relationship we share with our environment.

People working together to solve an environmental problem: For my first image, you see a picture of the North Country Food Co-Op. This store is a fully organic market that sells locally sourced, natural food and also sells certain foods in bulk giving shoppers a full range of options to avoid highly processed, artificial non-locally sourced foods and produce. My inspiration for this photo came from two huge problems in America's food industry: food that is traveling too far to reach our tables and artificial, processed or enhanced food and produce. We need to have more local food vendors who offer organic food options which will in turn reduce carbon emissions. As soon as I saw this store I wanted to go in. I took my picture and crossed the street to go look around inside. This picture is important for the Plattsburgh community as they have options for shopping at the market and accessing the healthiest and freshest food for their families.

Picture of an environmentally-related behavioral pattern that you would like to improve: My second image shows me admiring the fresh produce inside North Country Food Co-Op. In the image I'm holding an organic onion from right across Lake Champlain in Vermont. As a comparison, the organic onions in Market 32 come from Ohio. One of the first articles we read in Environment and Society class was "Still Eating Burgers and Driving Cars: climate alarmists don't do much to help the cause, poll finds" by Jennifer Harper at the Washington Post. While not about beef, I believe there are many problems within our food industry and some, that each person should be addressing individually. Buying locally sourced foods is something i've been working on for the past few months now as a way to reduce my carbon output. While it's a small step, this picture shows the care I've been practicing for the past few months with the food I select.

My third and fourth images are some nice, natural shots taken by my friend Chris during our time downtown.

My fifth image shows a unique relationship between animals and mankind. We often utilize imagery of animals to show power and domination. This is the McDonough Monument at the water's edge in downtown Plattsburgh, it's the tallest structure in the city.

An image of the beauty of the Saranac River: Taking this picture I felt the same sense of calmness I feel next to all bodies of water. There is something so peaceful about the constant flow of water. Indistinguishable in this picture is a man way in the background fishing and utilizing a space right within the city surroundings. This image captures the importance of green space in communities which will heavily come in to play as urban spaces grow across the country with increases in population.

An illustration of interrelationships among business and environment: My seventh image shows how certain businesses express environmental concern in their business practices. Thrift stores are a great way to recycle clothing and really get the full potential use of clothing. In addition, this a environmentally friendly and affordable way for families to get new clothing. Not only are people happy to purchase clothing at a lower price but they're helping the environment at the same time. This topic will likely come into play in our family unit as it reminded me of when I was younger and my mom and aunt would take my brother and I to our local thrift stores to get new clothes. It was a great way to save money as we were in our pivotal years of growing.

Biking in the City: In my eighth photo I captured one of the several people I saw biking through Plattsburgh that afternoon. This picture made me think of another way city dwellers can really take action against their carbon output and it was encouraging to see so many engaging in this opportunity, even if not for the reason of reducing carbon emissions. Biking holds many great health benefits including increased endurance and cardiovascular strength.

Evidence of a litter problem: This image saddened me as it was one of the negative findings on my photo journey. The area at the end of Plattsburgh right along the Saranac River which is dedicated for green space was covered in trash both on the shore and in the water. This image represents a larger issue we hold across the world which is the disregard for nature. We often rid ourselves of our garbage and forget what happens to it beyond our hands. This is detrimental thinking and behavior and leads to a dangerous feedback loop for animals who ingest garbage as well as pollution to our waters and lands.

Energy-Effiecinet Vehicles: My tenth image in the gallery simply captures an energy efficient vehicle. Pictured is a Prius, which is a hybrid car. When your car is not accelerating and you're cruisng at an even speed your petrol engine will shut off and the battery will then take it's function. This reduces gas consumption (and oil refinery business) while reducing carbon emissions. This is a car I'm used to seeing and it makes me hopeful for the future of hybrid and electric cars. I hope to make my next car purchase be electric.

An environmental problem: Vacant lots. Any city you visit will most likely be scattered with lots like the one pictured. Right near my hometown the cities of Albany and Rensselaer both receive complaints about the number of vacant lots and their lack of utilization. This photo makes my creativity run wild as I can imagine community gardens, basketball courts and other means of natural-community interactions. Anything to get people outside and appreciating their environment is a positive step in increasing green space and learning more environmentally-friendly practices in the case of a community garden.

A threat to air quality: When I approached this green space wall right against the road I was excited. I thought a business had made these lattice planters in a pattern you see popping up all over spaces surrounding roadways. Although this image illustrates that ideology, I was disappointed to find out it was fake plants. With increased air pollution it is important that people start taking simple steps in the fight against emissions to protect air quality.

Environmental artwork: This last image was a very happy way to end our afternoon downtown after some shopping and browsing. This image captured on the side of a building at the end of a block shows the happiness, joy and beauty that is found and very much appreciated and reflected through society. While there are many issues citizens need to address in the fight against environmental degradation, encouraging others to practice green lifestyle habits will bring us closer to having access to these goods and services in communities across the country. This gallery collection exemplifies the actions cites are taking even in small scale ways to help fight the fight.

Below I attached two links regarding steps cities have taken to reduce their carbon emissions and encourage green habits.

Thanks for reading!

bottom of page