top of page

Community Accessibility: The importance of walkability


Often times, it can be easy to not absorb our surroundings as an environment epsecially in cities where the hustle and bustle leads you to only concern yourself with your goals, actions and destinations. However, this week I remembered how important it is to slow down and smell the roses. In this weeks lab adventures, our objective was to simply take a walk through our Plattsburgh community, observe our surroundings and experience the community as an environment.

I had the pleasure of taking my walk with my classmates Tianna, Jenny and Charline. Our walk began at the corner of S Catherine St. and Elizabeth St. in downtown Plattsburgh. We had to travel a few miles to town hall, a typical walking scenario for community residents which helped us further envision true accessibility for residents in the area to needs and resources. For me, this was like stepping in my front yard. My apartment is extremely close to here so I was interested in what I would see and notice on this journey which I hadn't taken the time to notice or connect before.

For myself this walk was a bit out of the ordinary simply because of my accesibility to a car. I drive my car to school on days I don't walk and generally any other time I'm going out to the grocery store, laundromat or for other errands I take my car. This isn't the case for many in my community, the city of Plattsburgh. Lack of access to vehicles is common throughout cities but this does pose an increased challenge to everyday activities and errands.

Let's picture a scenario: I have to go to town hall to file my taxes and pay my water bill. After, on the way home I need to go home, grab laundry and head to the laundromat to do two loads of laundry and then to the market for some groceries. I have two toddlers aged 1 & 3 and I'm a stay at home mom. I have no vehicle and have to complete all of this to make the bus to the mall later this afternoon and hope I can squeeze in nap time for the little ones.

To someone like me, these activities with a car would take me approximately 2 1/2 hours start to finish. If I was this mom who lived in my same location this would be a full day excursion.

Walking from home to Town Hall: 40 minutes

Time at town hall: 20 minutes

Walking from Town Hall to home: 40 minutes

Walking from home to the laundromat: 10 minutes

Time at the laundromat: 60 minutes

Time home from the laundromat: 10 minutes

Walk from home to the market: 60 minutes

Time at the market: 50 minutes

Walk home from the market: 60 minutes

Bus to the mall: 15 minutes

Time spent at the mall: 30 minutes

Time home from the mall at rush hour: 25 minutes

Total errand time: 7 hours

As you can see, the spread of stores outside of city centers leaves low income families and those without transportation ,either by choice or without, at a direct disadvantage. To buy groceries in the city you pay more, have less access to bulk products and less choice of products. This is an example of social inequity, an oppressive effect of city living low income families feel often.

Along our walk we noticed that the least green space was given to the houses along the main road. Although this may seem minor, the most affordable housing is always found along a less desirable route, often busier, smaller, and older housing. Therefore, low income children who are already at increased risk for diseases like asthma and diabetes get less green space and in turn possibly less exercise or investment in activities outside. All across America especially deeply rooted in cities, procedural, social and geographical inequities can be seen vividly. From law enforcement to lack of investment, to intentional red-lining, governments at the heads of these cites make intentional decisions and rulings that can disadvantage the most vulnerable communities.

On our journey I took a time lapse video of our 40 minute walk with my GoPro camera and captured the first person perspective of our journey which I've attached. We passed business' bustling with activity, crossed busy streets lined with traffic in the afternoon rush, felt the full effects of the unusual September heat, saw mothers and fathers with their children, dog owners, joggers, bikers and eldery members of the community all utilizing different aspects of the community and environment, noticed green space and eclectic aspects and details of houses that by car would have gone unseen and found a new appreciation for the conversation and memories that were found within a walk focusing on the environment around us.

Without the need to travel by foot in a world filled with an abundance of conveniences we often neglect to look out for others in our community who are not as fortunate. Studies from the American Journal of Public Health outlined the importance of walkability in communities. One large concern mentioned is that "in a country where suburban sprawl often trumps pedestrian oriented neighborhoods, it can be difficult to remain active without purposeful scheduling". In addition to increased personal well being, the study shows that pedestrian oriented neighborhoods increase individual and collective social capital which is linked to better community health, decreased crime rates, and increased economic activity.

Attached I have included two external links. The first outlines the importance of walkability in communities and the second is a reading on 20 of the greenest cities in America and some of the awesome and progressive steps cities around the country have taken to make their cities more livable and accessible.

All across the world communities are the heartbeats of industry, social experience and culture. Being comfortable, safe and close to capital and resources is more important now than ever. It's pivotal that city planners, who are making their growing city centers more livable and prioritizing green space, make commerce and business be framed around the wants and needs of the community too, increasing walkability, accessibility and sustainability.

Thanks for reading!

bottom of page